Sour Cream Parmesan Chicken

Last night’s dinner recipe is brought to you by Things We Had in the Kitchen and the magic of Google search. Someone had a hankering for chicken and sour cream (Ummmmm…??? I’ve never even heard of this! But naturally I’m happy to oblige a request.) so to the trusty* internet I went, since for once we actually had the ingredients available and I just needed to figure out how to make something of them.

*Well, “trusty internet” as related to things like chicken recipes and how to tie a bow tie or where you can have a rentable Porta-John delivered.

Turns out the random-sounding “sour cream chicken” recipe does exist and is delightfully delicious and SUPER easy to make. Which means – you guessed it – we’re adding it to the list of Family Favorites and I now have an official excuse to have my favorite dairy item (sour cream) on hand regularly. I found the original recipe on cdkitchen but made just a few substitutions* to accommodate what I actually had on hand. Here you go – enjoy!

*Surprised? I didn’t think so. I don’t call it “Kitchen Creativity” for nothin’!

Sour Cream Parmesan Chicken
Prep Time:  Hardly any (like 10 minutes, maybe less if you whip fast and don’t have to defrost the chicken)
Cook Time: About 20 – 25 minutes (or until the chicken is done)

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 6 oz light sour cream (yes, light – because when you’re baking you don’t notice the difference)
  • 1/4 C shredded Parmesan cheese (or more, because it is so good)
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or a fresh garlic clove if you happen to have a real one, but who does?)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 glass red or white wine (for you)
Directions
  • Heat oven to 400 degrees
  • Cut chicken breasts into halves and arrange in a buttered 9×9 glass baking dish
  • Mix sour cream and spices (you can see from below that I cheated by mixing them IN the sour cream container – but it was so convenient!)
  • Spread mixture evenly over chicken breasts
  • Pop in the oven for about 20 – 25 minutes (although I’m not exactly sure on timing, so just check it often enough to be sure the chicken is no longer pink)
  • Let stand for a few minutes and then serve with something else (like broccoli – which I boiled myself!) and enjoy!
image

The easy way out with the topping - I like to avoid making a mess of too many bowls if possible.

image

The chickens with their topping - yum!

image

Two important facets of cooking - wine (naturally) and a begging dog.

image

Yum, yum, YUM! Tender chicken cooked to perfection, and a deliciously healthy side of broccoli!

I love when recipes are quick, easy and delicious! At the end of the day, sometimes you just see what you can do…and sometimes it totally works.

3 responses to “Sour Cream Parmesan Chicken

  1. This looks delicious- substitution is the name of the game in cooking. Nice selection of photos.

    • Thank you! Substitution will probably always be the name of my cooking game, since I feel like I’m generally out of at least one if not more ingredients. 🙂 I appreciate the comment!

  2. Betty Crocker and Martha Stewart ain’t go nuthin’ on you, baby. You rock!

Leave a Reply

