Resolutions (And Other Pipe Dreams)

So here we are in 2012, and I’m already behind.

I generally don’t make resolutions for exactly this reason – I can never seem to stick to them. For example, I’ve been trying to lose 20 lbs for at least 5 years, to no avail.*

*Actually, 3 years ago it was 10, so…I think that clears things up in regard to my “resolve”. 

And also, I usually like to make “resolutions”* for the upcoming year on my birthday, which has more significance in terms of evaluating the past year and what I’d like to see for my future. My birthday is a source of great excitement for me (if you’ve been the recipient of one of my shrieking 7AM “thank you OMG OMG OMG I love my gift it was so sweet of you to remember me I’m having such a good day already I wonder if anyone bought bagels!” phone calls over the years, you know). It’s also the cause of quite a bit of introspection – which I’ll save for 33 days from now, not that I’m counting.

*This year, I’m going to “set intentions” instead. Some how it feels like there’s more wiggle room.

But as the new year has arrived, I’ve been thinking about some general resolutions I can make that are less philosophical and more day-t0-day practical.

2012 Resolutions

1. Eat less Chipotle. See what I’ve done here? I’m still allowing myself to have   some Chipotle, but not as much. That’s very doable.

2. Watch my calories. In this case, I am literally going to watch my calories using an app called Lose It!* The app is a calorie tracker that you can use via your phone or the internet and gives you a swift kick in the pants in regard to how “healthy” you thought you were being. Just a couple glasses of wine, you say? Well, with this app you’ll discover it’s that, or it’s dinner.**

*As a matter of fact, if you happen to download this app, add me as a friend! Accountability is key here.
**A no-brainer, really – bust out your corkscrew.

And on that note…

3. Drink less wine. I think this year life’s Great Question – for me, anyway – really will be “Where’s the chardonnay?”, because I’d like to be drinking less of it.* There’s really no good way to say that without sounding like a lush, but let’s put it this way – drinking is a bad habit.** “Relaxing” with a glass of wine one night causes stressing about pants not fitting the next week – and then some. You can’t really out-exercise alcohol, so it’s worth moderating it.

*Actually, I wouldn’t like to be drinking less of it, but I should be drinking less of it. Those are two very different statements.
**A bad habit that I embrace with open arms.

4. Play with my dog more. At some point I have a post coming about being present, but I’m not waxing philosophical here – Baylor’s just reallybored. And indeed, playing with him more – giving him dedicated time and attention, even just a little bit per night – would also help me de-stress and disconnect for a moment, too. (Okay, that was a little philosophical.)

5. Write more. That’s it. That’s all there is to it.  There’s no reason I don’t post more often except laziness – it’s certainly not for lack of inspiration. Oh, and learn how to do those blog picture collage thingy-s like the kind on this site, because they’re cute and because I take a billion photos on my phone that I’d really like to share.

6. Read more. This encompasses several things: the news (scrolling through the top headlines more regularly), books (anything, really – it’s just the habit of relaxing/unwinding I’m trying to get into) and my friends’ blogs (because they’re creative and interesting and inspirational).

And, lastly (because I love lucky number 7):

7. Give myself a break when some of these things don’t happen. They’re resolutions, right? No one keeps resolutions. At least no one I know.

At the end of the day, resolutions are a baseline for improvement – and I’m excited to get started.

2 responses to “Resolutions (And Other Pipe Dreams)

  1. Once again: Brilliant beyond comprehension – Funny, insightful, poignant. You KNOW you were meant to be a writer, Little Fraughter. You’re so talented, and I can relate to all your New Year’s intentions. It’s gonna be a Great Year for you. oxox

  2. I too can relate, but only to #2, 3, 4 (change to cat), 6, and 7. Well said! Good luck to us all! And YES, you were meant to be a writer! Now to figure out how to get paid to do it! Love you Friece!

Leave a Reply

