Easter Sunday

Hold on to your hats, friends – I’ve been cooking a lot since I moved to California.

I know, right? This piece of unexpected news from the girl who cried into her berry streusel muffins when the batter turned purple.

The girl who has unsuccessfully attempted to substitute things like spaghetti when the recipe calls for egg noodles and who forgot the condensed milk when baking pumpkin pies one year for Thanksgiving and had to mix the milk into the pumpkin filling in the pre-filled pie crusts. Yup, that would be me.

But lately I’ve kind of just been “going for it” when it comes to cooking, with surprising successes! My mom’s traditional spaghetti sauce? A total hit. Homemade mac & cheese? I got a “seconds please!” on that one. And my first ever chicken parm* with fresh buffalo mozzarella slices melted on top?! Absolutely inhaled.

*“Parm”? Why “parm”? Why not “parmesan”? Apparently we’re too lazy to say the whole name. This annoyed me, but after eating it, I realized I was too sluggish to not abbreviate, either.

So I’ve been getting a little more confident, and have been doing things like…meal planning. And…spice shopping. New territory for sure. And with some family favorites to guide me and a little help from AllRecipes.com and Cooks.com (as well as a few frantic texts to the family cooks), I’ve been doing quite well.

Today’s Easter brunch selection – a broccoli and cheese frittata – was a total crapshoot, given that I’ve been told explicitly that several of the tasters who would be (hopefully) enjoying the dish severely dislike broccoli. I tried it anyway.

Broccoli & Cheese Frittata*

*Original recipe pulled from AllRecipes.com with a few creative substitutions/changes by yours truly.

Ingredients
  • 12 large eggs
  • 2 C Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • Quite a bit of black pepper
  • 2 C fresh broccoli, chopped, cooked and drained (I had to Google how to do this)
  • 1 C fresh yellow onion, sauteed (I managed to do this by myself)
  • 1/2 C half & half
Directions
  • Heat oven to 425 degrees
  • Generously butter 9×9 glass baking dish
  • Whisk eggs with half & half and pepper
  • Add all ingredients and mix thoroughly
  • Pour mixture into baking dish
  • Bake on top rack uncovered for 40 – 45 minutes, or until egg is cooked all the way through*
  • During the last 5 minutes of baking, add just a sprinkling of shredded cheese to the top
  • Let sit 10 minutes
  • Cut into about 16 small squares and serve – best with Tabasco, ketchup or sour cream to taste

*Note: When cooking the cheese into the frittata, the knife may come out cheesy. This does not mean the frittata isn’t done. I had to double check myself on this one, but if you’re more experienced in the kitchen, you probably won’t have this kind of doubt.

image

Adding fresh cooked broccoli to the egg mixture.

image

Delicious sauteed diced onions.

image

Ready to be cooked!

image

Ta da! Breakfast deliciousness.

Survey says? Ding ding ding ding ding ding ding! It was a total win with even the broccoli haters, who said they “couldn’t taste it” – and asked for seconds. Good enough for me.

Happiness on Easter is a table full of full, fat and happy family – especially when it was I made who it so.

6 responses to “Easter Sunday

  1. Good for you! Not only does it sound delicious, it looks fabulous! Job well done!!

  2. I just love you to pieces.

  3. Julie Bradshaw

    Kelsey! Julie is here reading over my shoulder (scrapbook weekend in progress) and cracking up at your Blog. She just signed up to get them automatically like I do. Yay!!

Leave a Reply

